Gurratan Singh wins seat along with a big list of other desis in Ontario's elections
By Barfi Culture Team
8th June 2018

It was a mixed night for Jagmeet Singh's NDP last night after it came second in Ontario's provincial elections.

But several of the party's key candidates, including his brother Gurratan Singh (pictured), were elected. And the NDP did much better than expected at the start of the campaign.

The Ontario elections were important as it is Canada's most populous and politically important province.

A win for the NDP could have catapulted Jagmeet Singh into the political stratosphere. But Justin Trudeau's Liberal Party will be breathing easy for now.

Ontario will be led by Doug Ford of the PC party, a right-wing populist who has been compared to Donald Trump.

It also makes the NDP the official opposition in Ontario, which should give the party higher profile across the province.

New faces

South Asian Members of the Ontario Provincial Parliament (MPPs) elected last night

From the Progressive Conservatives (full list):

Prabmeet Sarkaria, Brampton South
Amarjot Sandhu, Brampton West
Goldie Ghamari, Carleton
Logan Kanapathi, Markham–Thornhill
Parm Gill, Milton
Kaleed Rasheed, Mississauga East–Cooksville
Deepak Anand, Mississauga–Malton
Nina Tangri, Mississauga–Streetsville
Vijay Thanigasalam, Scarborough–Rouge Park

From the NDP: (full list)

Gurratan Singh, Brampton East
Sara Singh, Brampton Centre
Jacqueline Gujarati, Mississauga–Streetsville
Doly Begum, Scarborough Southwest

There were no South Asian MPPs elected from the Liberal Party.

Get our weekly email on the desi diaspora
Barfi Culture is a (recently launched!) news magazine, covering South Asians living in Europe and North America.

»   Balanced news, informative opinions
»   Celebrating our cultures
»   A platform for people

We publish daily. Get our email or find us on social media (tw: news; fb: culture; insta: images).

Find out more | Tell us your story
Barfi Culture is a news-magazine on South Asians in Europe and North America.
(This is what makes us different)

Editorial Policy | Contact Us